Reason

I had searched for it again
under tungsten light
at night
but only found
abstract piercings
and arid
air.I closed the book
shut the door
rubbed my eyes
dimmed the light
and sighed.I had good reason.

I awoke
at the upwelling
in my heart
and heard the dry
leaves rustle
without
as my mind began
to wrestle
a rising flood
within
Let us reason…

I tried to shield
the eyes that looked
straight into mine,
but could only see me searing
burning
blood red and naked
and exposed
a sudden heaviness
heaved upon my heart
while my head seemed
strangely clearer
Let us reason…

Again, I tried
to shield the eyes
that looked straight into mine,
but could only hear the cold
leaves breaking
into dust
without
while silently within
newest life lay dawning
a better light risen
and calling
Let us reason…

And then, the eyes that looked
straight into mine
helped me to see
True love
True truth – his Truth
opened
finally
open
wide open
the words I’ve pondered
expounded
all wanting
questions stilled
by His final promise
sealed forever
quenching the fire
and cooling my head
while my heart lay still
strangely filled
with a purer will.
Let us reason…

I open the book
shut the door
search His eyes
find new light
and sing.

I have good reason.

Petra O. Hefner
Thank you kindly for your feedback.

