Question

What do you want from me?
Do you want me
to return
to you
all the days
you’ve lost,
everything you’ve gained
but did not keep?

Do you want
me
to erase
your stains,
ease your guilt,
feel your pains?
Do you want me to be you for a day or a year?
Do you know what it’s like to be me,
to be free
from all sin
and shame
fully nailed
on display
and pain
fully
pierced?

And what is it you see
when you look at me?
Do you see only what you want to see,
what you need
me to be?
Can you look into my eyes
and still live
in your lies?
Can you touch my side
where the spear has been
and still sin
and sin
and
sin
yet
again?

If I enter your mind
to look at me,
would I see
you
only
or would I see
only
Me
?

Petra O. Hefner

Thank you kindly for your feedback.

