Dying to Live

Do I know how to die
to die to self
to all of it?
I’ll fight
to live!

Do I know how to live
to live unto God
to all of Him?
I’ll die
trying!

Do I know how to kill
to kill everything
all my idols?
They’ll kill
to live!

Do I know how to go
to go to the cross
to surrender?
Christ did
He lives!

Do I know how to trust
to trust completely
His promise?
I’ll need
His faith!

Do I know how to love
to love God wholly
only in Christ?
I’ll live
dying!

And dying
I’ll live!

Petra O. Hefner

Scripture

13 thoughts on “Dying to Live

  1. I like your use of form and repetition in this one. Strangely enough when I read it aloud to myself it read in a staccato, rap-like sound. Don’t know if that was your intent, but that’s how it came out in my mind.

    Like

  2. … “I live dying, and I’m dying to live” … that just about sums up my life … very neat blog you have here, P.H. … wunderbar … Love, cat.

    Like

Thank you kindly for your feedback.

